Everyday theology, life before the Internet, bloated FB apps, and 90s Rock galore [Weekly Roundup]

My friend Barney has just co-founded a new blog that aims to explore theology for non-theologians. Away from the world of academia, theology is still crucial for every church and all who would follow Jesus. I’m super-excited by this blog and can’t wait to see what they share in the future. Check out this reflection on Eph 1:17-23 for a taste of what’s to come…

 

Alongside stories of toddlers looking through stacks of photos and getting frustrated that they can’t pinch-to-zoom and get a better look at something, this post made me realise that there’s an awful lot I’m going to have to explain to my brood. I just hope they don’t look at me like I did when my Mum shared that she still remembers the gas-man lighting the street lamps outside her house!

 

As a professional geek, I’ve spent way too many hours poring through other people’s bad code; an unwelcome task only bested by the dread of poring through my own bad code! You often think that big tech companies would be immune from technical debt, but a fellow developer found that nothing could be further from the truth when they reverse-engineered the Facebook app to see just why it was >100MB. It’s worse than I could have possibly imagined…

 

My musical awakening came right in the midst of these songs’ release. Mid-1990s rock, alternative and metal ruled MTV in those days, and it was glorious! While my tastes have shifted on, a load of these songs still take me back to when my hair was long; I had just picked up the guitar, and was eager to join them in rocking out. Join me on my trip down memory lane…

This entry was posted in Amateur Christian, Father-In-Training, Media Junkie, Professional Geek and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

